X-Plane Gallery with people


The Cosmosphere Is Your Place for Space in 2020!

The Cosmosphere is Your Place for Space in 2020! And if you’re an educator in Northwestern Kansas, your students don’t even have to make the trek to Hutchinson to experience exciting, hands-on learning.

Thanks to a five-year grant awarded in 2019 from the Dane G. Hansen Foundation, students in 20 rural Kansas schools were able to advantage of unique STEAM learning opportunities in the 2019 fall semester, with 19 more schools scheduled for a visit from the Cosmosphere in spring 2020.

And because Cosmosphere educational programming focuses on understanding STEAM principles and highlights potential future career pathways—this opportunity isn’t just for science educators!  For example, Cosmosphere educators recently presented to a social science classroom on the history of the Space Race.  Following the presentation, students were tasked with a hands-on engineering challenge to program and operate Lego EV3 robots.

Cosmosphere presentations can be performed on site or live-streamed to the school and can serve multiple classrooms or the entire student body of a school or district.  Choose from a number of hands-on experiences for your students, featuring engaging activities led by Cosmosphere educators —ensuring continued engagement in the classroom!

All Cosmosphere educational programming meets grade, curriculum and Next Generation Science standards.  Program topics include: Rocketry, Living in Space, Engineering Design Challenge, Solar System Bracelets, Robotics, Flight and Astronomy.

To inquire about possible outreach programs served by this grant funding, please contact Joanna Strecker, Cosmosphere School Manger, by emailing: joannas@cosmo.org, or calling: 620-504-9474.

The following is a list of Kansas Counties served by this Dane. G. Hansen Foundation grant: Cheyenne, Cloud, Decatur, Ellis, Ellsworth, Gove, Graham, Jewell, Lincoln, Logan, Mitchell, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Rawlins, Republic, Rooks, Russell, Saline, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Thomas, Trego and Wallace.